Qatar to take part in WAFF Championship in UAE next year

      Published on Wednesday, 15 April , 2020      987 Views     
Qatar to take part in WAFF Championship in UAE next year

The Qatar Football Association (QFA) has confirmed the participation of Qatar’s national team in the 10th edition of the West Asia Football Federation (WAFF) Championship to be hosted by the UAE from January 2 to 15, 2021.

Other participating teams so far include Jordan, Saudi Arabia and Oman alongside hosts UAE.

Qatar were crowned champions of eighth edition held in 2014 with a win over Jordan.

Qatar won 2-0 in the final of the tournament hosted by Qatar from December 25 to January 7, 2014.

The year 2000 witnessed the launch of the first edition in Jordan where Iran won the title.

Six teams have won the championship title in the tournament’s history with Iran bagging the winner’s trophy four times – 2000, 2004, 2007 and 2008 compared to one time title for Iraq (2002), Kuwait (2010), Syria (2012), Qatar (2014) and Bahrain (2019).

Category Sport | 2020/04/15 latest update at 8:40 AM
Source : The Peninsula | Photocredit : Google
Comments Add comment

Gulf Media

Related Articles

The editorial staff of Qatar Today would like to give all of its readers from Gulf and Qatar and the whole world the opportunity to participate actively in the development of the website! If you have something interesting, fun, scandalous - just something worth to be seen from more people. Capture it and share it in the Qatar Today with a short text.

Do you have information you want to reach our readers?

Send article/s

You can subscribe to our Facebook, Twitter and Google pages or use our RSS feed channel to always read the most important news about Qatar, the Gulf and the world.